To a woman so heartless

The pastor or what-have-you to the church that hosted my late aunt’s funeral for family and friends who still lived in her hometown said that “death is the wage of sin.”  My boyfriend pointed that that while the Bible does say that, my aunt died of cancer and not from committing a sin.  Recent events are bringing this up to me now, months after her funeral, as life plays itself out again.  Part of me thought to myself that – humoring the pastor’s distasteful exerpt – perhaps our loved ones pay the wage not just for their own sins but for ours as well.  Well either way, what the fuck.  You don’t say that at someone’s funeral.

Leave a Reply

